AetnaAll Plans · Coverage · Medical Policy · PodiatryLow impact
Hammertoe Repair (CPB 0636, reviewed 2025-12-11)
Effective date
Not stated in the notice
Identified
Aug 16, 2026
Summary
This is Aetna's Clinical Policy Bulletin 0636 on hammertoe repair, reviewed 2025-12-11, so it is historical material from an older source. It considers surgical repair medically necessary for members who are skeletally mature or 18 or older when radiographic confirmation, persistent pain and difficulty walking after at least 3 months of conservative treatment, and a listed indication are documented. It considers fixation implants and plantar plate repair experimental, investigational or unproven, and the source does not state an effective date or describe what changed.
Get alerts when payers change rules like this one
We check Aetna and other payers every day and email you when a change matches your specialty and state.
Summaries are AI-assisted. Always confirm against the original payer notice.
What is PolicyChanges
One workspace for payer rules, prior auth, coding and compliance
Medical practices use PolicyChanges to catch payer changes before they cause denials. Every change is summarized in plain English, with the codes involved, the date it takes effect and what to do.